Each of the actions of Our Public Service 2020 is progressed by an action team. Action teams are made up of sectoral experts led by a member of the Public Service Leadership Board and sponsored by a member of the Public Service Management Group. Click here for further information on the reporting structures of Our Public Service 2020.

The cross-sectoral Action 16 Team identified a number of key issues that require careful consideration. These included:

  • Issues concerning definitions;
  • Concerns as to shared understandings of the ‘business case’ for equality, diversity and inclusion;
  • Data quality and data collection;
  • The role of organisational leadership in delivering change;
  • The importance of wide-ranging consultation in the design of actions in this space, and
  • The large number of actions already in this space and the desire of the group to add value.

To this end a number of initiatives were developed including:

  • A Diversity and Innovation event took place in Dublin Castle on 30th October 2019;
  • The Development of Vision Statement and principles;
  • The Development of Toolkit and Maturity Model;
  • A ‘Consultation’ feedback exercise on the above documents with under-represented groups;
  • “The Equality Diversity and Inclusion Vision Statement, Commitments, and Maturity Model for Public Service Organisations” was published May 2021;
  • The EDI Maturity Model is currently being piloted in the Department of Justice and An Garda Síochána. Pending the completion of the pilots further resources and case studies will be added to the resource section of this site.

Membership of Action 16 Team (2021) :

Lead: Drew Harris, An Garda Síochána, and, Oonagh McPhilips, Department of Justice

Sponsors: Alice Donovan, An Garda Síochána, and Doncha O’Sullivan, Department of Justice

Coordinator: Catherine Egan, An Garda Síochána

Siobhán Barron, National Disability Authority

Evan Breen, Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

Pamela Byrne, ACESA

Roisin Doherty, Solas

Michael Ganly, Civil Service HR

Niamh Fawl, National Disability Authority

Ruth Gallagher, IHREC

Ursula Galvin, HSE

Amanda Kane, LGMA

Noel Kavanagh, An Garda Síochána

Sarah Kelly, Department of Defence

Jayne Lawlor, Defence Forces

Laura Mahoney, Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

Úna Ní Dhubhghaill, Department of Justice

Fiona O’Callaghan, Department of Public Expenditure and Reform

Jo O’Leary, An Garda Síochána

Carolyn O’Malley, Science Foundation Ireland

Deirdre Toomey, Public Appointments Service

Select a different Action